If you drive with a revoked license in Georgia, you can get in serious trouble with the law. You might have to pay a fine, go to jail or face criminal charges.
The penalties you can receive for driving with a revoked license will vary depending on the specific circumstances of the offense.
Penalties based on the number of offenses
In general, the more offenses you commit, the harsher the consequences.
Driving with a revoked license in Georgia is a criminal offense. The police may give you a misdemeanor if it is your first offense within five years, resulting in a jail sentence of at least two days, but no more than 12 months. You can also get fines ranging from $500 to $1,000.
Second or third offense
The police can charge you with an aggravated misdemeanor after the police catch you driving with a revoked license again within five years of your first offense. This is a more serious crime than the first offense and may result in a jail sentence of at least 10 days, but no more than 12 months. You can receive a fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,500.
Fourth or more offenses
If caught a fourth or more times within five years, then that is counted as a felony. This may result in a prison sentence of at least one year but no more than five years and a fine ranging from $2,500 to $5,000.
Getting a new driver’s license
Getting a new driver’s license after its revocation is possible in Georgia. Through the Georgia Department of Driver Services, you may apply for a new driver’s license and receive one if you meet the eligibility requirements. The process varies depending on your specific situation but generally involves:
- Completing required programs
- Paying fines
- Passing exams or test
You will also need proof of insurance and possibly undergo a driving test.
Driving with a revoked license is dangerous and illegal. If you find yourself in a situation where you need to drive with a revoked license, it is best to have someone else drive and avoid getting fined or going to jail.