Convictions for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Georgia do not necessarily result in jail time. However, judges have the discretion to order a jail sentence even for a first DUI offense.
Review circumstances in which a driver may end up in jail for DUI in Georgia.
Minimum and maximum sentences
Drivers can receive up to a year in jail for an initial DUI in Georgia. For a second DUI, the maximum sentence increases to two years.
The state has also established minimum sentences for DUI offenses. A second DUI within five years of the first offense carries at least 48 hours in jail. For a third offense in the same five-year period, the mandatory minimum sentence increases to 15 days.
Drivers receive fines of up to $1000 for the first and second DUI offense in Georgia. A third offense carries up to $5000 in fines. The state also mandates community service, starting with at least 40 hours for a first-time conviction.
Convicted individuals will also lose driving privileges for up to 12 months for the first offense, 36 months for the second offense and five years for the third offense. Drivers must use an ignition interlock device at their own expense to get driving privileges back.
The state also mandates clinical substance use disorder evaluations for all individuals convicted of DUI in Georgia. If you struggle to control your drinking or drug use and face DUI charges, you may be able to attend treatment for addiction in lieu of jail time.