As a Georgia citizen facing a first offense alcohol-related DUI charge, you might worry about the potential penalties and their effect on your future. The possible consequences include jail time, community service, counseling, fines and license suspension.
If you lose your driver’s license privileges, there are a few things to know about reinstating your suspended license.
Length of suspension
You face a 12 month driver’s license suspension if this is your first DUI offense in the past five years. After 120 days of suspension passed, you are eligible to apply for reinstatement if your DUI is alcohol-related. If your DUI conviction was the result of a drug offense, then you are subject to the full year suspension.
Implied Consent Law
In Georgia, if you refuse a breathalyzer test requested by the arresting police officer, you face automatic suspension of your driver’s license. After an officer reads the implied consent notice to you, you must take this post-arrest test otherwise you risk losing your driving privileges for at least 12 months.
Requirements for license reinstatement
You have ten business days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing to fight the suspension of your license. If you do not attempt to contest the suspension, your driving privileges are automatically revoked.
The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle Safety oversees the hearing and if your license is in fact suspended, then you will need to follow separate protocol to reinstate it. Your license must remain suspended for at least 120 days and you must complete a DUI Alcohol Use Risk Reduction program approved by the state. After paying a fee and submitting the program certificate of completion, you meet the requirements of reinstatement.