We are fighters who will do everything we can to protect your rights and your future.

  1. Home
  2.  → 
  3. DUI
  4.  → Legal consequences of a Georgia DUI

Legal consequences of a Georgia DUI

| Aug 5, 2020 | DUI

Georgia requires drivers to take a breath screening sobriety test if requested during a traffic stop. Law enforcement can arrest motorists for driving under the influence if they are obviously impaired or have blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher.

These are the possible legal penalties for a Georgia DUI conviction.

First DUI

With no prior Georgia DUI convictions, the driver could receive:

  • 40 hours of community service (state mandatory minimum)
  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • 12-month license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee to regain driving privileges after one year
  • Fines of $300 to $1,000

Second DUI

A driver who gets another DUI within five years of the first could receive:

  • 30 days of community service (state mandatory minimum)
  • Mandatory minimum of 48 hours and up to 12 months in jail
  • 36-month license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee to regain driving privileges
  • Fines of $600 to $1,000

Subsequent DUIs

Georgia considers drivers with more than two DUIs in five years habitual offenders. In addition to the above penalties, a convicted driver could receive:

  • 30 days of community service (state mandatory minimum)
  • Mandatory minimum of 15 days and up to 12 months in jail
  • Indefinite license suspension and vehicle license plate seizure
  • Fines of $600 to $1,000
  • Name and photo in the local newspaper as a habitual DUI offender, printed at his or her own expense

Drivers who receive a DUI conviction must also undergo substance use disorder screening and abide by the recommendations of the results, including treatment if warranted.

Archives