Driving under the influence in Georgia can result in fines, license suspension and other penalties. The state defines DUI as operating a motor vehicle while obviously impaired or with a measured blood alcohol content of 0.08% and above.
Before facing a DUI court date in Georgia, learn more about the potential consequences of a conviction.
First DUI conviction
Drivers who do not have prior DUI convictions are subject to the following:
- One-year license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee
- Fines of $300 to $1,000
- Up to a year in jail
- At least 40 mandatory community service hours
Second DUI conviction
If you receive a DUI charge after an initial conviction within the past five years, penalties increase as follows:
- Three-year license suspension with $210 reinstatement fee
- Fines of $600 to $1,000
- A minimum of 48 hours and up to one year in jail
- At least 30 days of mandatory community service
- Mandatory substance abuse evaluation and treatment at your own expense if necessary
Third DUI conviction
A third DUI within five years of the first two offenses carries the same penalties as for a second DUI, as well as the following:
- Five-year license suspension with $120 reinstatement fee
- $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
- Mandatory minimum of 15 days and up to one year in jail
- Seizure of your vehicle’s license plate
- Name and photo printed as a habitual DUI offender in the local newspaper at your own expense
Because Georgia has an implied consent law, you can receive additional penalties if you refuse to take a breath test or field sobriety test. Having an open container in the vehicle results in an additional $200 fine. Drivers younger than 21 are subject to charges with a BAC of 0.02% or higher, and the threshold is 0.04% for drivers who have a commercial license. In addition to the penalties described above, all drivers convicted of DUI will receive 12 months of probation.