The holidays are in full swing and if you plan on celebrating with alcohol, it’s important to avoid driving. As we reported in our last post, Georgia law enforcement will be spending the rest of the month cracking down on drunk drivers.
Because drunk driving arrests are expected to skyrocket over the next couple of weeks, you might be reading this post after being charged with a DUI. Here are a few things that you need to know:
You don’t have to plead guilty. As we discussed in the last post, pleading guilty isn’t always the best choice after being charged with a DUI as it can lead to serious penalties and can have a negative effect on your future for many years to come.
If it’s your second offense the stakes are even higher. While a first-time DUI can result in possible jail time up to one year, a fine of between $300 and $1,000, a license suspension of up to one year, and community service, a repeat offense can lead to the following:
- At least 48 hours in jail, and possibly between 90 days to one year
- A fine of between $600 to $1,000
- A three-year license suspension
- Mandatory community service
- A mandatory clinical evaluation and possible completion of a substance abuse treatment program
You could be forced to install an ignition interlock device. Under Georgia law, a person who is convicted of DUI for a second or subsequent offense within five years must pay for an ignition interlock device to be installed in his or her vehicle for six months.
You need the right lawyer to defend your case. Our firm’s No. 1 goal is to beat the charges against you. We don’t care how high your BAC level was, we are ready to explore the full range of potential DUI defenses available in your case to help you fight the charges.
To read more about our firm’s unique and aggressive approach to DUI charges, take a look at our Defending DUI Charges page.