As of earlier this week, two Georgia residents remained in the custody of Polk County police after they were arrested on Oct. 15 for DUI and other alcohol-related charges.
According to reports, the two individuals were sitting in a 1999 Cavalier in the middle of a one-way street in Rockmart. Police reported that they happened to be driving in the area when they came across the vehicle facing in the wrong direction on the one-way street.
The 27-year-old woman who was driving the vehicle was arrested for DUI. She was also charged with driving on a suspended license. The 22-year-old passenger, who is also the owner of the vehicle, had an open container in the vehicle. He was arrested and charged with allowing the driver to violate state law.
In Georgia, a resident could have his or her driver’s license suspended for a variety of reasons. It is not clear why the woman’s driver’s license was already suspended, but being arrested for drunk driving is a very common reason for one to be penalized with a suspended license in the state of Georgia.
A Georgia resident’s driver’s license could be suspended for up to six months if the individual blows a .08 during a breath test. Refusing a breath test could result in a one-year license suspension. A repeat DUI offender could have his or her driver’s license suspended for an even longer period of time.
A suspended license may not seem like a harsh penalty, but losing one’s license for even a temporary period of time is a huge hassle. Thousands of Clarke County residents rely on their own transportation to get to work, to take the kids to school and to pick up groceries. For this reason, an individual who has been accused of drinking and driving may benefit from working with an attorney who will protect one’s need to drive.
Source: The Examiner, “Rockmart police arrest DUI driver and owner of vehicle,” Tammy Overstreet, Oct. 18, 2011