For some people convicted of a DUI, in addition to dealing with potential jail time and costly penalties, one of most difficult aspects of their punishment may be the suspension of their drivers license. If you require your vehicle to get to work, school, medical appointments or to an alcohol and drug rehabilitation treatment program, not having a license for months or longer can endanger your ability to make a living, your health and your recovery from substance abuse.
Many Georgia residents will be surprised to learn that the state has the second most restrictive driving under the influence laws in the nation. Coming in second only to Arizona, the prosecutors in the Peach State take a hard line when it comes to drunk driving offenses.
Georgia teens are under enormous pressure from peers to engage in risky behaviors like drinking and driving, taking illegal drugs and using prescriptions medicine not prescribed to them or unsafe doses of their own medications. Parents struggle with the responsibilities of helping teens navigate these dangerous shoals.
The state of Georgia sponsors the Georgia Young Adult Program to promote awareness and education regarding highway safety issues. The program focuses on impaired driving, underage drinking and destructive decisions, as well as other high-risk behaviors.
Georgia has a "SuperSpeeder Law" on its books that fines drivers extra if they exceed 75 mph on two-lane highways or drive faster than 85 mph on highways or other roads.
Commonly known as a "whiskey plate" and sometimes a "party plate," these are license plates that are given out to people who have been convicted of a DUI. The plates are mainly used in Ohio and Minnesota, where they're a different color than the standard plates that other drivers use, making them easily visible to other motorists and police officers.
You do not have a right to drive in Georgia, not in the sense that many people assume. Instead, driving is a convenience that can be taken away from you. One common way that this happens is when you are given a DUI charge. Your license could be either suspended or revoked, and you must know the difference.
In March, the Georgia Supreme Court held that the state’s DUI implied consent law is unconstitutional. As we explained in a past post on the ruling, the implied consent law holds that drivers must consent to chemical testing after being pulled over for drunk driving or they lose their driver’s license for at least one year.
Earlier this month, it was reported that drunk driving convictions have dropped significantly over the past five years in Georgia, which seems to suggest that fewer people in the state are driving under the influence of alcohol.
Many different types of offenses, including DUI and DWI offenses, can result in a suspension of a person's driving privileges in Georgia. People whose licenses are suspended have their rights to drive withdrawn temporarily for a specific length of time. When the suspension period is up, the person can then reapply to have his or her driver's license reinstated after they have fulfilled any additional requirements.