Daniels & Rothman, P.C. map & directions
toll free: local:
866-422-8045 706-621-5166

call us now for a free consultation

What are the penalties for DUI in Georgia?

Motorists may benefit from learning more about the potential consequences of being charged with a DUI offense in Georgia. People who are convicted of a DUI charge may be required to undergo a DUI Drug or Alcohol Risk Reduction Program and possibly a clinical evaluation as well. Drivers under age 21 who are convicted of exceed the .02 percent BAC limit may receive a 12-month delay in obtaining a graduated license.

The legal limit for adults' blood alcohol content in Georgia is .08 percent. People who are convicted of violating the open container law may be penalized by up to $200 in fines. Motorists convicted of their first DUI in Georgia may face up to one year in jail, at least 40 hours minimum of community service and a one-year license suspension. Drivers may also be fined anywhere from $300 to $1,000 and a $210 fee to reinstate the license.

People convicted of a second DUI within five years of the first offense may face a variety of penalties. These drivers may have their license plates seized and be required to comply with an ignition interlock device in any vehicle driven for at least six months. Second-time offenders are detained for an initial for 48 hours as well as a possible 90-day to one-year jail sentence. The fines range from $600 to $1,000 in addition to the $210 reinstatement fee. The license may be suspended for three years.

The third DUI within five years of the second offense requires a 15-day jail sentence, $1,000 to $5,000 in fines, a five-year license suspension and 30 days community service, among other penalties.

Criminal defense lawyers may be able to help get drivers acquitted, or have the charges reduced, by challenging the prosecutor's evidence. Often times, legal counsel focuses on refuting the probable cause or the sobriety tests used to make the arrest.

Source: Governor's Office Of Highway Safety In Georgia, "Georgia's Impaired Driving Laws & Penalties", August 04, 2014