Daniels & Rothman, P.C. map & directions
toll free: local:
866-422-8045 706-621-5166

call us now for a free consultation

How different offenses effect Georgia license points

Drivers in Georgia may face a license suspension after committing a serious violation or accruing 15 points on a license in a two-year period. Minor offenses do not apply to the system, and major offenses like driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol could result in a suspension after the first offense.

Non-moving violations might not result in any points but do come with a fine; these violations can include a broken tail light or parking tickets. Drivers can earn one to six points for violations like texting while driving, unlawfully passing a school bus and speeding 15-18 miles per hour over the speed limit. While one cannot have 15 or more points on a license in a two-year period, these violations can stay on a driver's record for up to 10 years depending on the offense.

Georgia uses a license point system for many offenses to separate reckless drivers from responsible ones, and negligent drivers can have their licenses taken away. Statistics indicate that insurance rates could rise as high as 19 percent after a license suspension.

Individuals who test above the legal limit for alcohol can face at least a six-month driver's license suspension in addition to other penalties if convicted. It is important to act quickly when charged with a DUI offense. Applying for an administrative hearing within 10 days of an arrest could result in a license with restricted terms instead of a suspended license. An attorney may also have more time to gather evidence and prepare a strong DUI defense.

Those facing violations for DUI may benefit from seeking the advice of an attorney. If the evidence against the defendant appears to be non-definitive, an attorney may be able to argue the case on behalf of their client in order to sanction reduced penalties.

Source: CBS 46, "Driver's license point system in GA", Annalee Penny , August 25, 2014

Source: CBS 46, "Driver's license point system in GA", Annalee Penny , August 25, 2014