Many different types of offenses, including DUI and DWI offenses, can result in a suspension of a person's driving privileges in Georgia. People whose licenses are suspended have their rights to drive withdrawn temporarily for a specific length of time. When the suspension period is up, the person can then reapply to have his or her driver's license reinstated after they have fulfilled any additional requirements.
A 51-year-old Georgia man is facing multiple charges following an accident in which one man was killed and several people were injured. The accident occurred on Oct. 25 around 7:30 p.m. in Savannah.
The Georgia State Patrol believes that alcohol consumption may have contributed to an Oct. 20 accident that sent a Clermont man to the hospital. Police say that the two-vehicle crash was caused by a 34-year-old Hall County man who failed to yield while allegedly driving under the influence. He has been charged with DUI and issued with a traffic citation. The accident occurred at approximately 3 p.m. on Athens Highway southeast of Gainesville.
Two drivers were accused of drunk driving after they were both involved in the same accident in Georgia on Oct. 24. The crash took place in Atlanta at the intersection of Peachtree Road and Battle Avenue. The accident also involved a police cruiser.
Although most people are aware that it is illegal to operate a car or motor vehicle on the roads while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, some are not aware that the laws apply to Georgia's waterways as well. It is illegal to operate a boat while under the influence of alcohol.
By operating a boat, people consent to alcohol testing. For people 21 and older, those with a blood alcohol content of more than .08 face charges of BUI. A BUI is a misdemeanor charge carrying the possibility of up to one year of incarceration and a fine of $1,000. A conviction of the offense will also serve to prohibit the person from operating a boat until they have completed an approved DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction program successfully.
A driver in Georgia may face penalties for driving with an open can, bottle or container that contains an alcoholic beverage. Georgia law defines an open container as a container with any amount of alcoholic beverage with a broken seal or with a portion of its contents removed. Both drivers and passengers are subject to this law whenever a car is on the road or on the shoulder of a road.
In the event that the driver is the only person in the car, he or she shall be deemed to be in possession of any open container in the vehicle. An exception to the law exists for those who transport people for compensation or for those driving a mobile home. The penalty for having an open container in a vehicle is a fine that will not exceed $200.
Georgia residents who have been charged with DUI may face a number of consequences upon conviction. However, there are several different strategies that might help a person avoid a guilty verdict or excessive penalization. Our firm could assist a client build a defense case that fits his or her circumstances and seeks to protect that defendant's rights.
We represent clients that are facing a variety of charges associated with impaired driving allegations. Regardless of a client's alleged blood alcohol content, our attorneys may be able to help individuals seek a dismissal of DUI charges before a trial begins. By using a number of strategies such as questioning if an officer had reasonable suspicion to pull over a defendant or suggesting that officials lacked probable cause when making an arrest, our firm might be able to argue against the charges and the sanctions associated with a conviction.
Georgia police took a man into custody after he allegedly led them on a high-speed chase on Oct. 9. Officers said the man was driving while intoxicated, traveling at high speeds along U.S. Highway 27. The chase reportedly ended when the man attempted to flee on foot.
Police said they suspected the man was driving drunk because he was driving erratically, weaving in and out of lanes at inconsistent speeds. They attempted to stop the vehicle around 1 a.m. at an intersection. While the car allegedly attempted to evade police, it collided with a sign near a parking lot and then hit a curb in front of a gas station. One witness said that sometime during the chase, they heard the car strike an unknown object near a fast-food restaurant.
In Georgia, state regulations regarding underage drinking and possession of alcohol by minors mirror those set by many other states. With few exceptions, most states enforce strict laws with regard to to these issues.
For legal purposes, a "minor" is generally defined as any individual under the age of 21. Some state rules regarding possession apply strictly to evidence of alcohol in a minor's body, though others dictate that a minor who is unaccompanied and has alcohol on his or her person is "in possession" and may face charges. When a state requires that a minor have alcohol in his or her system in order to be charged, the presence of alcohol is usually verified by by a blood, breath or urine test.
According to Gwinnett police officials, a 19-year-old White County man slammed his 2015 Kia Optima into the back of a deputy's cruiser while the official was working in a traffic safety detail off-duty in a construction zone. The accident occurred around 11:00 p.m. on Sept. 24 on Interstate 85 between Indian Trail Lilburn Road and Jimmy Carter Boulevard.
Police say the driver was driving in the HOT lane. The deputy was partially parked in the lane with his lights flashing; construction crew members were busy completing repairs to the lane when the collision occurred. The 32-year-old deputy suffered non-life-threatening injuries as a result of the accident. He was transported to Gwinnett Medical Center for medical treatment as a result.